The capitate bone is one of the four bones that comprise the distal row of the carpus or carpal bones that form the wrist. It is the largest of the carpal bones and is placed in the center of the wrist (see image).

Its name originates from the Latin [caput], meaning "head". The capitate bone presents a large, rounded area, called the "head". To complete the homology, the capitate bone also has a narrow segment called the "neck", the rest of the bone called the "body". It is also known as "os capitatum" or "os magnum"

The capitate bone articulates with seven bones, including the scaphoid, lunate, trapezoid, hamate, and the three central metacarpals (2nd, 3rd, and 4th).

The accompanying image shows the anterior (volar) surface of the wrist. Click on the image for a larger picture.

Scaphoid bone - anterior (volar) view of the wrist

Image modified from the original: "3D Human Anatomy: Regional Edition DVD-ROM." Courtesy of Primal Pictures